Search This Blog


Congenital scoliosis

*Scoliosis is the sideways curvature of the spine.

*It is classified into two major types. They are Non-structural (transient) and Structural (permanent) types of scoliosis

*Non-structural scoliosis is again divided into POSTURAL scoliosis, COMPENSATORY and SCIATIC scoliosis.

*Structural scoliosis is divided into IDIOPATHIC, CONGENITAL and PARALYTIC scoliosis.

*Overall POSTURAL scloliosis is the most common type of scoliosis.

*IDIOPATHIC scoliosis is the most common type of permanent scoliosis.

- This type is always associated with some form of radiologically demonstrable anomaly of the vertebral bodies. These are

A. HEMIVERTEBRAE - Only One half of the vertebra grows

B. BLOCK VERTEBRAE :- Two vertebral bodies are fused. 

C. UNSEGMENTED BAR : - A bar of bone joining two adjacent vertebrae on one side, thereby preventing growth on that side. 

*Shown below are the Plain radiographs of a pediatric patient with congenital scoliosis. (A) Posterior--anterior and (B) lateral views of the spine, with multiple congenital vertebral anomalies including hemivertebrae at thoracic and lumbar spine and block vertebrae at lumbar spine.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...